Thursday, 7 December 2017

It Had to Be You - by Keris Stainton


My own copy
Original Cover


The blurb:

Twenty-five-year-old Bea is a hopeless romantic – with a hopeless love life. She’s been single ever since her awful ex broke her heart, and the only thing she gets up to in bed is watching rom coms on her laptop.

When Bea meets Dan, who is basically the man of her dreams, she knows she can’t let him get away. They might not have fireworks, but not everyone can be fighting and (loudly) making up every night, like Bea’s housemates.

But Bea can’t shift the feeling that something just isn’t right. As time goes on, Dan seems less like Mr Right, and more like Mr Couldn’t-Be-More-Wrong… Will Bea be brave enough to change her dreams – and dare to ask for more?

A laugh-out-loud tale for anyone who’s ever dreamt of a fairy-tale romance and found a real-life happy ending, for fans of Giovanna Fletcher, Cate Woods, and Mhairi McFarlane.


My Opinion:

*Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

Bea is a dreamer. She has had the same dream for 10 years. The dream involves a man sitting on a bench in a park. Well, that’s how she meets Dan. Could he be the one?!

Bea gives it a go and spends a lot of time with Dan. They get along really well and things move forward. It was funny seeing their relationship develop, but for Bea something feels wrong.

She works in a bookstore with her friend Henry. I really liked Henry from the start and also some of her other friends. They brought a great mixture into the storyline and made things more exciting.

Every chapter begins with a snippet of Bea’s dream, which is very clever and exciting. I really liked this. There were times I was really absorbed in the story and was hooked and then other times I couldn’t find a connection. Something was missing for me and I just can’t explain what. The ultimate spark was just not there, which is a shame, because Keris Stainton is a very talented author. I really like her style and her smooth writing.

The story was a bit too predictable for me, but I think for some people this will not be the case. There are surprises in there, I think I just had this feeling ;).

It Had to Be You is a wonderful contemporary romance with the perfect title. I really enjoyed this book.

Rating:





UK🇬🇧http://amzn.to/2ff3Nr9



US🇺🇸http://amzn.to/2wFkPdg

About the author: 

Keris lives in Lancashire with her husband and two sons. She’s written a bunch of books for young adults and children, and is obsessed with Twitter, tea, and 1D.

No comments:

Post a Comment