Tuesday, 19 June 2018

While I Was Sleeping - by Dani Atkins

Original Cover
My own copy


The blurb: 


A brand new and brilliant emotional family drama for fans of Jojo Moyes and Dorothy Koomson, from the bestselling author of Fractured.

I don't remember what happened or what has changed.

I can still hear your voices but you can't seem to hear me.

I was about to be married and had everything to look forward to.

Now I have to find a way back - to you, to our family, to us.


My Opinion:

*Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

This is going to be one of my BOOKS OF THE YEAR!!!

I know this now already, because it was absolutely BRILLIANT!!! On so many levels…

Imagine waking up from a coma six years later… Maddie was happily engaged to Ryan and four days before her wedding she is involved in a terrible accident. For the people around her everything changed, they kind of had to move on, when she wakes up again everything seems the same for her, but it’s obviously not. 

Ryan is now married and has a daughter. There is actually much more behind it. Maddie slowly gets into her life again, but things are weird, especially with Ryan and his new wife. 

Dani Atkins has hooked me from the start. She described the day of Maddie’s accident and I felt like standing next to her. The tension was high and I felt something bad was going to happen. Then we move six years to the future, Maddie wakes up. We read it all from Maddie’s perspective. Dani Atkins captured her feelings beautifully. It’s so emotional and touching and I just wanted to help Maddie and be there for her. After a while we also get to read Chloe’s perspective. She is Ryan’s wife and it opened a totally different side to the story. I was angry at her first, but things got clear about how she and Ryan got together. I think this is a brilliant way to tell the story and the idea behind this book is fabulous!!!

I loved reading how Maddie, Chloe and Ryan found a way to all life together. I don’t want to give away too much here, but I really adored how the storyline developed. It had a wonderful flow. 

This book absolutely touched my heart. I don’t think I ever cried so much, reading a book. It’s heart-breaking, poignant, moving and tear-jerking. 

The ending of the book made me speechless!!!

Rating:









Dani Atkins on Twitter: @AtkinsDani

Monday, 18 June 2018

The Sunshine Blogger Award


Thank you Heidi for tagging me. Loved reading your answers. I guess it’s my turn now. Here is how it works: answer the 11 questions posed by the person who nominated you and then to come up with 11 new questions to ask 11 other bloggers. Here we go: 
  1. Which advice would you give your younger self?
Believe in yourself and stay yourself no matter what!!!
  1. What were your reasons behind starting a blog?
That’s an easy one: My love for books, especially women’s fiction. I read some Paige Toone and Jane Costello books and started writing down my thoughts on them. Now, my blog has changed a lot obviously, but I’m still a book blogger. 
  1. What has been your blogging highlight so far?
Meeting so many fab authors and blogging friends. Some oft hem are very close friends now and I’m very garteful for that. 
  1. Which book are you currently reading?
Make or Break by Catherine Bennetto
  1. Who are your favourite bloggers/vloggers?
Bloggers: Alba in Bookland, Laura Patricia Rose, Em Shedon, Moorenita
Vloggers: EM Sheldon, Niomi Smart, Fleur de Force
  1. Which location has been your favourite holiday destination?
Florida! I just love Siesta Key, the beach, the sunshine and also the shopping in the States ;). 
  1. What’s your favourite time of the year?
Spring, because I love when the days are getting longer and warmer again. Plus, I always have big holidays planned in spring. 
  1. What would be your ideal working environment?
I love being a teacher and being surrounded by kids everyday. It’s great explaining them something and seeing them understanding the concept. The team around me is really important as well and the infastructure. Tecnical things tend to be annyoing at school, so I definitely see potential there. 
  1. What’s your favourite social media channel?
Instagram, I love taking photos and posting them on there. You also so get great inspiration on Instagram. 
  1. Do you have any bad habits?
Hmm, I’m sometimes pealing the skin around my skin and I guess I like coffee a bit too much ;). 
  1. Do you still keep in contact with your friends from school?
With some of them yes, but mostly on facebook ;). 

I’m tagging Alba, Maryline, Kayla and everyone else, who would like to do it. Here are my questions: 
1.     If you could live abroud, where would you live and why?
2.     Your favourite meal? From starts, to main course to dessert. 
3.     What’s your favourite thing about blogging?
4.     Who is your celebrity crush?
5.     What was the inspiration for your blig name?
6.     Who is your favourite author and why?
7.     What’ your favorite tv series?
8.     What’s your favourite memory from your childhood?
9.     Where to do you see yourself in five years?
10.  What was your dream job as a child?
11.  Your favourite book oft he year so far?

Sunday, 17 June 2018

Fashion Corner - Pleated Maxi Skirt


Image and video hosting by TinyPic



Today's Fashion Corner is dedicated to this fab maxi skirt.


This maxi skirt is great for winter, of course you can also wear it in summer though. It black and goes into royal blue. I bought it from Maje and in this combination I actually combined it with a shirt from Maje and a leather jacket from maje. 




- Skirt: Maje (similar)
- Shirt: Maje (similar)
- Jacket: Maje (similar)
- Booties: Nero Giardini
- Bag: Coach (similar)





Here is a little variation to the look, with a different shirt: 


The shirt is a light roll neck in the blue of the skirt. I paired it with my necklace from Phantasya. 



- Shirt: Sisley
- Necklace: Phantasya



Saturday, 16 June 2018

Mia San Mia - a little trip to Munich


Watching a Bundesliga game in the Allianz Arena was always something I really wanted to do. They are my fave team from that league and they are the best Germany has to offer. My brother is a huge fan and part of their fancy, so he got tickets. He couldn't go, so he gave them to my dad and me. 



We decided to make a day trip out of it. We left early in the morning and drove to Munich. It's a long drive, about four hours. We arrived at around 10.30. The first glimpse of the stadium was very impressive and special. We parked there and then walked to the stadium to properly look at it and take some pictures. Then we took the underground into the city centre, where we had lunch at the Augustiner. One of the famous "beer restaurant/gardens". A big pretzel, some Bavarian veal sausages and of course beer. Then I had some time to do a little shopping, before heading to the stadium again.




Some more pictures there, before heading inside the Allianz Arena. Women have an extra line to wait, so it took a bit longer. We then walked around, look at a big fan shop and also took some glimpses on the field from different heights and perspectives. Then  it was time for some food (a huge pretzel and beer), before sitting down. We saw the players warm up and then the game started. They played with the B team, but it was still pretty exciting. Some of the well know players still played or they at least sat on the bench. They played against Frankfurt ad the result in the end was 4:1. We got to see a lot of goals and the atmosphere was fab!!! The weather was fab, just a wonderful day. 

We bought a scarf for my brother and after the game we headed to the fan lounge, before heading home.




Friday, 15 June 2018

Best Practice - by Penny Parkes

Original Cover




















The blurb: 

Dr Alice Walker has become accomplished at presenting a fa├žade to the world – to anyone watching, she is the epitome of style, composure and professionalism. But perhaps it was to be expected that the cracks might begin to show at some point. Thankfully Grace is on hand to offer both friendship and support when it’s needed most.
 
Meanwhile, Dr Holly Graham has her hands full both professionally and personally. Planning a wedding with Taffy Jones is challenging enough, even before some surprising news changes everything. At least beloved Larkford resident, Elsie, still has a few tricks left up her sleeve!
 
Dr Dan Carter, on the other hand, has decided to throw himself into his career – the best antidote he’s found to unrequited love. When tragedy strikes in the heart of Larkford, Dan makes it his mission to help the community.

My Opinion:

*Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

Everyone said it’s like reading up with old friends, reading this book, because it’s book three of a series. For me it was a little different, because I haven’t read the previous books of the series. 
I guess that’s why it took me a while to get into it. 

I really warmed up with all the characters quickly though and started enjoying the story. The characters are really wonderful, all special in their own way and together they build a strong community. I loved reading about each and every one of them. Penny Parkes created this great world around them and captured it all beautifully. 

Sometimes I got a bit overwhelmed by all the characters, but the more I got to know them, the more I loved them. The book has a great mixture of friendship, love, medical stuff and just fantastic scenes and moments. 

Penny Parkes is a very talented author with a fabulous and unique style. The book is full of laughs and cries, just adorable!!!

Rating:





Penny Parkes on Twitter: @CotswoldPenny
Goodreads - Amazon UK - Amazon US

Tuesday, 12 June 2018

Daisy's Vintage Cornish Camper Van - by Ali McNamara

Original Cover
My own copy





















The blurb: 

Welcome to the gorgeous Cornish town of St Felix, where there's magic in the air...
When Ana inherits a broken-down camper van from her best friend, she takes the chance for a quick trip to Cornwall - some sea air and fish and chips on the beach is just the tonic she needs. 
But St Felix has bigger plans for Ana. She discovers a series of unsent postcards, dating back to the 1950s, hidden in the upholstery of the van. Ana knows that it's a sign: she'll make sure that the messages reach the person that they were meant for. And as the broken-down van is restored to gleaming health, so Ana begins to find her way back to happiness.


My Opinion:

*Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

The book has a very sad beginning. Ana’s best friend Daisy dies and leaves her with big wish. It takes Ana to St Felix, a lovely little town by the sea in Cornwall. 
Ana should get Daisy’s Cornish camper wan and that leads her onto adventure, a big one. 

She finds letters of lovers Lou and Frankie, deals with the loss of her friend and gets to know some new people. Ana is determined to return the letters to the rightful owners and does a lot to find them. She gets help from Noah, who owns a shop in St Felix. Malachi does up her car and also spends a lot of time with Ana. 

The plot of this book is great and it flows beautifully. The characters well lined out as well and they are all so different from each other. 

St Felix is a lovely little town and has so much charm. Ali McNamara found a wonderful way to include it in the story and her descriptions are on point. 

I went through all the emotions reading this book; I laughed, I cried, I felt happy, sad etc. Ali McNamara’s writing is full of passion and heart. I felt so close to the characters and I was really routing for Ana. The book includes mystery, romance, friendship, love, beautiful settings and amazing moments. 

A definite must read!!!!


Rating:





Ali McNamara on Twitter: @AliMcNamara