Monday, 19 March 2018

The Café at Seashell Cove - by Karen Clarke


My own copy
Original Cover


The blurb:

Welcome to the Café at Seashell Cove, where you’ll find irresistible home-baked cakes, smiling friendly faces – and maybe even a second chance at love… 

When Cassie Maitland needs a holiday from her glamorous but stressful job in event management, she escapes home to gorgeous Seashell Cove, where her family’s cosy café sits perched on the cliffs above sparkling waves and golden sand. 

But a lot has changed while Cassie’s been away: her parents have transformed their tired café into a welcoming haven, her friends Meg and Tilly have whole new lives, and old flame Danny’s twinkling eyes and winning smile make Cassie feel even more flustered than they used to. 

Keen to throw herself back into local life, Cassie starts to run themed events – including a not entirely successful cat-café day, complete with dozens of felines. Luckily Danny is always around to lend a helping hand, and Cassie soon begins to wonder if her life in London was really all she made it out to be… 

Could a new start in Seashell Cove be exactly what Cassie needs? 

A heart-warming and hilarious read about friendship, belonging and seaside living. Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson, Holly Martin and Jenny Oliver. 



My Opinion:

*Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

In this story we follow Cassie Maitland, an event manager, who takes a break from her stressful job and goes back home.

There a lot of things have changed. Her parents now have a successful little café, her friends Meg and Tilly have a new and totally different lifestyle and then there is her old flame Danny. All this calls for an interesting storyline and excitement.

Cassie starts coming up with ideas for her parents’ café, some are better than other, but she always gets Danny’s help and she starts to see life from a different perspective.

I really adored Cassie’s family, especially her nan. They are a great mixture of people and they all add so much to the story.

The setting is absolutely beautifully and Karen Clarke did a great job capturing it all.

Certain bits in the storyline seemed a bit unrealistic and not authentic enough. This is a real pity, because I really liked the idea behind it all.

There is a lot of humour in the storyline and I really enjoyed the dialogue between the characters.

All in all, I think it’s a delightful and happy story.

Rating:





Author Bio: 

Karen Clarke writes romantic comedy novels. Her BEACHSIDE series is set in the fictional seaside town of Shipley and features recurring characters, but each book can be read as a standalone. She is currently working on a new, three-book series set in Devon- the first, The Café at Seashell Cove is out March 15th 2018. 

Karen has also written three romcoms with a paranormal twist, all available to download

When she's not working on her novels, Karen writes short stories for women's magazines and has had over three hundred published globally. Some of them can be read in her short story collection 'BEHIND CLOSED DOORS...and other Tales with a Twist' 

Karen lives in Buckinghamshire with her husband and three grown-up children.



Author Social Media Links: 

No comments:

Post a comment