Sunday, 19 June 2016

The Little Village Bakery – by Tilly Tennant

My own copy
Original Cover

The blurb:

Help yourself to a generous slice of Victoria sponge, a perfect cup of tea and a big dollop of romance. Welcome to the Little Village Bakery.

Meet Millie. Heartbreak has forced her to make a new start and when she arrives at the old bakery in the little village of Honeybourne she is determined that this will be her home sweet home. Her imagination has been captured by the tumbledown bakery but with no running water and dust everywhere, her cosy idea of making cakes in a rural idyll quickly crumbles.

Luckily the locals are a friendly bunch and step in to help Millie. One in particular, Dylan, a laid-back lothario, soon captures her attention.

But just as Millie is beginning to settle in, an unexpected visitor from her past suddenly turns up determined to ruin everything for her. It’s time for Millie to face the skeletons in her closet if she’s going to live the dream of running her little village bakery, and her blossoming romance with Dylan.

A charming heartwarming novel about love, life and new beginnings perfect for fans of Milly Johnson and Debbie Johnson.

My Opinion:

*Book provided by the publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

The Little Village Bakery is the first book of Tilly Tennant’s Honeybourne series. The cover is what drew me to the book from the start and I actually expected something totally different from the book.

The story follows Millie, she starts new in Honeybourne with the dream of the village bakery. That seems to be a lot of works, luckily there are lots of the locals there to help. We get introduced to a lot of them pretty fast. Unfortunately, I couldn’t really warm up to the group. Some of them got their story told as well and at times it was a bit too much of a mixture and too many characters around. I felt like some of them were not well lined out and I had difficulties following the story. I also couldn’t really warm up to Millie, I can’t even explain why. I really got hooked on Jasmine and her story and also her relationship with her brother Dylan. I think Tilly did a really great job describing their moments.

Millie gets haunted from the past, which makes the whole situation and her plans very difficult and challenging. I have to say that it took me a while to get into the story, but eventually I got hooked. Tilly’s writing is exciting and vivid.

Millie now had to leave her pat behind and open up to her new surroundings. Dylan was a great support for her.
Millie’s story is different and I don’t say that in a bad way, but I just wasn’t expecting it and I wish that the bakery played an even bigger role in the story.

Tilly’s writing style always makes me smile, she creates such a fabulous atmosphere and the storyline is always full of live and passion. Yes, I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I wanted to, but that can happen. I’m still looking forward to more books in this series :).


My possible cast:

Millie: Shailene Woodley 

About Tilly

Tilly Tennant was born in Dorset, the oldest of four children, but now lives in Staffordshire with a family of her own. After years of dismal and disastrous jobs, including paper plate stacking, shop girl, newspaper promotions and waitressing (she never could carry a bowl of soup without spilling a bit), she decided to indulge her passion for the written word by embarking on a degree in English and creative writing, graduating in 2009 with rst class honours. She wrote her rst novel in 2007 during her rst summer break at university and has not stopped writing since. She also works as a freelance ction editor, and considers herself very lucky that this enables her to read many wonderful books before the rest of the world gets them.
Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn was her debut novel; published in 2014 it was an Amazon bestseller in both the UK and Australia.
It was followed by Mishaps and Mistletoe, The Man Who Can't Be Moved, the Mishaps in Millrise series and the Once Upon a Winter series.

Tilly on Twitter: @TillyTenWriter

No comments:

Post a Comment