Wednesday, 21 May 2014

Take Mum Out - by Fiona Gibson

Original Cover
My own copy

The blurb:

“What do you need a boyfriend for? You’re a mum.”

Fiona Gibson returns with a laugh-out-loud read, sharply observed and full of dating disasters.

Three blind dates
Two teenage boys messing up her plans
And one man who'll melt Alice's heart.

'You need to get back in the saddle…' Alice despises that phrase. She's fine being single – with two slothful teenage boys and a meringue business to run, she has enough on her plate without negotiating the troublesome world of modern dating.

However, Alice's three best friends have other ideas. Each one will present her with an utterly delicious, eligible man – all Alice has to do is pick her favourite.

Perfect for fans of Tracy Bloom, Kate Long and Tess Stimson.

My Opinion:

*Book provided by publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

“What do you need a boyfriend for? You’re a mum.”

Tha’s how Fergus, one of Alice’s son reacts on her going on dates. I love books involving children and this time it was a little different, because Logan and Fergus are already teenager. It was great to get an insight to family life though, I really enjoyed it.
Alice’s a single mom, working as a secretary at a school and having her little meringues business. Then there are her boys, I loved the three oft hem together.

It took my a while to get into the story though. I can’t really say why, because there were some really funny parts and I like Fiona’s writing.

It was interesting followinging Alice’s story and reading about her dates. The dates seemed a little unreal for me and unfortunately Alice’s feelings didn’t come through. She seemed to enjoy the dates and felt a spark and then suddenly it was over. Some decisions were made a little bit too fast form y taste.

Next to Alice’s dating stories, she had to deal with her boys and also their day, so plenty was going on, sometimes almost a little too much.

Alice’s best friends are great. It’s so lovely of them to send her on different dates and we are really kept wondering with whom Alice’s was going to end up. Let’s just say, she made the right choice.

There were some adorable scenes in this book, especially the ones including children, so sweet. On Alice’s birthday the story finally clicked with me and was so glad. Alice has got wonderful friends and amazing sons.

Fiona’s writing is hilarious, sweet and adorable.


My possible cast:

Alice: Kate Beckinsale

Fergus: Ty Panitz

Logan: Austin Mahone

Fiona on Twitter: @FionaGibson


No comments:

Post a Comment