Thursday, 2 November 2017

Christmas at Hope Cottage - by Lily Graham

Original Cover
My own copy

The blurb:

In the little village of Whistling, with its butterscotch cottages and rolling green hills, snow is beginning to fall. Christmas is coming, and Emma Halloway is on her way home.

When thirty-year-old food writer Emma Halloway gets dumped then knocked off her bike, she’s broken in more ways than one, and returns to her family’s cosy cottage in the Yorkshire Dales. Emma hasn’t been back in some time, running from her crazy relatives and her childhood sweetheart, Jack Allen.

Emma’s grandmother is determined to bake her back to health and happiness, as the Halloways have done for generations. Surrounded by old friends and warm cinnamon buns, Emma starts to believe in her family’s special talents for healing again. But then in walks Jack with his sparkling hazel eyes, stirring up the family feud between them. 

As the twinkly lights are strung between the streetlamps, Emma remembers just why she fell for Jack in the first place... and why a Halloway should never date an Allen.

The infuriating new lodger, Sandro, doesn’t believe anyone should have to choose between love and family. With a little bit of Christmas magic, can Emma and Jack find a way to be together, or will Emma find herself heartbroken once more?

An utterly gorgeous Christmas romance about the importance of family, freshly baked biscuits, and learning to trust your heart. Perfect for fans of Phillipa Ashley, Debbie Johnson and Debbie Macomber.


My Opinion:

*Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

At the beginning of the book, the main character Emma Halloway is in a really bad place. First her boyfriend dumps her and then she is involved in a terrible accident, leaving her injured and not able to work.

This all means she returns to Hope Cottage after so many years. She is suddenly surrounded by Evie, her grandmother, Evie’s sisters Dot and Aggie, lodger Sandro and her childhood sweetheart Jack Allen.

Emma wrote a weekly cooking column and is now surrounded by cooking constantly again, in a different way. Sandro helps her put together her life again, but then there is Jack, who tries to win her heart again.

This book is full of lovely characters, who all add their spark to the story. They are a great mixture und all very unique. The storyline has a sweet flow and Lily Graham created a wonderful atmosphere around the characters and the plot.

There is this magical touch there and a lot of festive elements.

Rating:




Lily Graham on Twitter: @lilygrahambooks

No comments:

Post a comment