Friday, 19 May 2017

Annie’s Lovely Choir by the Sea – by Liz Eeles

Original Cover
My own copy

The blurb:

When twenty-nine-year-old Annie Trebarwith receives an unexpected letter from a great-aunt she’s never known, she leaves her shoebox-sized flat in London and catches a train to the rugged Cornish coast.

Salt Bay is beautiful and Annie begins to kindle a bond with her great-aunt Alice. Even though there is zero phone signal and the locals – including the gorgeous but brooding Josh Pasco – can be decidedly grumpy at times, Annie starts to feel at home in Salt Bay.

Soon Annie’s love of music leads her to relaunch the Salt Bay Choral Society, and she’s surprised to see how just much the choir means to the community – and she even starts to break through Josh’s surly exterior…

But London is calling Annie back, and she has to make a decision. Give up her old life completely, or leave Salt Bay, her new-found family – and the choir – behind?

Annie’s Lovely Choir by the Sea is a heart-warming story about family, belonging and the healing power of music, perfect for fans of Jo Thomas, Holly Martin and Carole Matthews.

My Opinion:

*Book provided by the publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

I absolutely adored the sound of this book from the start. A choir and the sea, sounds like the perfect combination for me.

The story follows Annie Trebarwith, who lives in London, is a PA and unexpectedly gets a letter from her great-aunt in Cornwall. She never knew her great-aunt Alice, but decides to pay her a visit in Salt Bay, by the coast in Cornwall.

I fell in love with Salt Bay immediately. Liz Eeles has such a lovely writing voice and she described the setting in a beautiful way.

Annie needs time to adjust though. There is no wi-fi and the village is really small. She builds a relationship with Alice and learns a lot about Salt Bay, the villagers and previous events. In the village she also meets Kayla, an Australian, who becomes a great friend. Kayla gets part of her story told as well, which was really refreshing.

Then there is John Pasco. To be honest: I didn’t know what to think about him at first, but that changed, because we got to know him better. He is actually really sweet and passionate about several things.
Annie needs time to figure him out as well and her feelings are just a very confused bundle of thoughts.

The thing I liked most about the book: the choir! Annie decides to form the choir and it’s great to read rehearsals, conducting (also John yes), the songs etc. It just gives me a warm feeling, because I sing in a choir too.

Annie still has a life in London though, so she has to figure out what she really wants in life. Her journey is an up and down, but very exciting to read about.

This book gives you happy, warm and much more, it’s a great summer read and I really want to read more books by Liz Eeles now.



About the author

Liz began her writing career as a journalist for newspapers and magazines before moving into the health sector as a communications manager and press officer. The low point of her career was abandoning an interview with Cliff Richard after two questions because she was about to faint – her excuse is that she was newly pregnant at the time.
Liz is from Gloucestershire but now lives by the sea in West Sussex with her husband and grown-up daughter. She spends a lot of time meaning to meditate, avoiding exercise, and missing her son who lives in London.

No comments:

Post a Comment