Sunday, 17 May 2015

Truly Madly Greekly – by Mandy Baggot

Original Cover
My own copy

The blurb:

Sun, sea and a sexy stranger - a whole lot of fun just got a lot more complicated.
Capable, confident and career-driven, Ellen had her dream job and a marriage proposal from boyfriend Ross. Life was good, her future set. Until it wasn’t and everything fell apart…

Whisked off to the beautiful island of Corfu to plan her sister Lacey’s big, fat, Greek wedding, Ellen is hoping some time out will help clear her head and heal her heart. But letting go of her past is not going to be easy.

With Lacey in full on Bridezilla mode, Ellen is soon distracted from her own problems. And when the all-inclusive treats on offer at hotel Blue Vue include one gorgeous, brooding Adonis – Yan – Ellen finds him difficult to resist.

But Ellen isn’t looking for love or lust, or anything involving too much ouzo…or is she?

Fans of Lucy Diamond, Miranda Dickinson and Lindsey Kelk will want to escape to Corfu with Mandy Baggot this summer.

My Opinion:

*Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

Yay, I'm finally reading a Mandy Baggot book again, I have so many of her books on my TBR, so I'm really excited!

The title is fab and the cover is gorgeous and after reading this story I have to say that they both fit perfectly.

Ellen is going on holiday to Greece with her sister Lacey. It's actually to check out Lacey's wedding location. From the beginning it's clear that Ellen cannot really relax and is in edge. She is in her phine the whole time and can't just enjoy the holiday.
She meets Yan from the animation team, they are drawn to each other immediatley and they spend more and more time together. Her sister Lacey has laid eyes on his colleague Sergei, which gets Ellen worried about Lacey's wedding. Lacey is young and just wants to have fun, maybe a but too much fun! It was fun reading about their adventures in Corfu.

We didn't only get to read about Ellen's point point if view and feelings. Yan had his part as well and I really liked him from the start. I enjoyed getting to know his background, he is different from other leading male characters and I really liked that. I loved having both perspectives, because it opend up the characters so much mire and I was able to understand them so much better. Mandy described their feelings carefully and very authentic, which is wonderful and you all gotta love Yan's accent.
We also get to know Ellen's situation and her past better and I lived the way the two of them opened up to each other, both of them still unsure to go any further, Yan being scared losing his job and his only chance. I loved how everything developped between them and the passion and chemistry was really something special.

The entertainment factor of this book is really high and I really felt for Ellen dealing with her a little immature sister. Her actions certainly made the stiry even more interesting. Things with Sergei developed and when her fiancé Mark, their dad and Ellen's ex turn up the drama gets intense. Yan is there to help wherever he can, which is just so cute.
Ellen has a lot to figure out. She had met Yan at her lowest point and he'd give her strength and more, what did she really want in life now?! And what uf that man had been hiding something important about his life?!

The readon why I can't give the book 5 stars, is the story arohnd Lacey. The stiry around her engagement, Sergei and how it all developed happend fast and didn't make sense to me. I felt like there were parts missing in all of it.

This is the perfect beach read. It's funny, bubbly, entertaining, touching and sweet.
The ending is cute and everything I wished for. Thanks Mandy for writing such a greatbook! It's about two totally different people falling in love and figuring out what they really want in life. It was a fast way of falling in live, but very autentic and sweet.


My possible cast:

Ellen: Keira Knightley

Yan: Dimitri Lekkos

Lacey: Carrey Mulligan

Mandy on Twitter: @mandybaggot

1 comment:

  1. Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I love who you've picked for the cast! Just need someone to make the film now!

    Mandy xx