Sunday, 14 January 2018

The Start of Something Wonderful - by Jane Lambert


Original Cover
My own copy

The blurb:

It’s never too late to follow your dreams… 
Forty-year-old air stewardess, Emily Forsyth, thought she had everything a woman could wish for: a glamorous, jet-set lifestyle, a designer wardrobe and a dishy pilot boyfriend. Until he breaks up with her…
Catapulted into a mid-life crisis she wishes she’d had earlier, she decides to turn her life upside-down, quitting her job and instead beginning to chase her long-held dreams of becoming an actress!
Leaving the skies behind her, Emily heads for the bright lights of London’s West End – but is it too late to reach for the stars?
Don’t miss this heartwarming and uplifting debut, perfect for fans of Colleen Coleman and Cate Woods!

My Opinion:

*Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

I loved the sound of this book from the start, because it includes theatre, the West End and much more.


The main character is Emma Forsyth, who is a forty-year-old stewardess, has everything and is happy with her pilot boyfriend. However, he breakes up with her and thats when everything changes. She gets into a big crisis and needs a change. She finally follows her dreams and wants to become a successful actress, hopefully on the West End.

She goes from casting to audition and tries out for various roles, whether its for a TV series, play or musical. I loved getting inside into this industry and I really wanted her to land a dream role. To actually afford living, she starts working at an Italian restaurant, where she meets some great people. They become a big part of her life and also help her along the way.

I really liked the idea behind this book, but the plot moved way to fast for my taste. There were big jumps and therefore also gaps in the storyline. I felt that it got messy at times and details were missing.

Tghe message behind it is very clear though and I think Emma is a great main character and I loved following her around. She takes a second chance at life and learns a lot. Of course the riomance part is very important to mention as well, let me just say: Italian charm.

A very sweet and adorable read, not more unfortunately.

Rating:




Jane Lambert on Twitter: @janelambert22

No comments:

Post a comment