Sunday, 6 August 2017

If You Could See Me Now – by Keris Stainton

Original Cover
My own copy

The blurb:

‘One of the funniest books I've ever read. It made me cry with laughter. I highly, highly recommend it to anyone looking for a complete gigglefest of a read!’ Kirsty Greenwood

Izzy Harris should have it all – but her boyfriend has been ignoring her for months, she’s been overlooked for a promotion, and the owner of her local coffee shop pervs on her every time she has a craving for a salted caramel muffin.

Then her life is unexpectedly turned upside down.

Izzy dumps her oblivious boyfriend, and leaps on the chance to win a big pitch at work. Needing to work closely with gorgeous colleague Alex is an added perk…

But then her best friend has her heart broken, the pitch is way more complicated than expected, and Alex is keeping secrets. Does Izzy have what it takes to help her friend, save her career and get the guy?

A funny, feel-good read about finding yourself – and love – when you least expect it, for fans of Joanna Bolouri, Cate Woods, and Lindsey Kelk.

My Opinion:

*Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

If You Could See Me Now is Keris Stainton's first adult novel and I fell in love with her style of writing immediately.

The story follows Izzy Harris, who wakes up one morning and is invisible. Yes, you heard right! To be honest, it was really confusing form e at the beginning and I didn’t really know what to think. I went with the flow however and really started enjoying the book.

She dumps her boyfriend, works on a big work project at home, starts liking her work colleague Alex and her best friend’s relationship status changes as well. Her best friend Tash is in an open relationship at first and really really likes going out with different men.

Izzy has always felt a bit invisible at times and now she is really experiencing it. She now has to learn to deal with it and find a way to still come up with a plan for work, go out with Tash and see Alex. More and more people find out that she is invisible and more problems come up. I liked the idea behind it all, because Izzy really learned a lot about herself and life, but the invisibility thing made the „chick-lit“ effect form e a bit weird.

Keris Stainton has a fab writing style, her words are engaging, there are lots of funny moments and she somehow made the invisibility work. My fave scenes were to ones with Izzy and Alex.

The ending was a bit rushed form e and left some things open, which I don’t like, but I still enjoyed every second of this book. It’s gripping, funny and full of great moments!


Author Bio

Keris lives in Lancashire with her husband and two sons. She’s written a bunch of books for young adults and children, and is obsessed with Twitter, tea, and 1D.    

No comments:

Post a Comment