Wednesday, 30 September 2015

Raincoats and Retrievers (Primrose Terrace Series, Book 3) – by Cressida McLaughlin

Original Cover
My own copy

The blurb:

Hilarious and touching, Primrose Terrace will appeal to fans of Lucy Diamond, Cathy Bramley and Trisha Ashley.
'A gem…I loved it’ Alexandra Brown
It’s autumn and Primrose Terrace has never looked lovelier. But things are far from rosy for the Barker’s at No.6. Cat’s been walking their pair of gorgeous Golden Retrievers and she’s noticed that things are distinctly chilly between owners Juliette and Will. For Cat, things are coming to a head with Mark, but is he the right man for her? Especially as she is getting closer to flatmate Joe. Cat thinks she must be able to do something to stop autumn falling on the Barker’s marriage, but is there anything she can do to resolve her feelings about Mark?
Raincoats and Retrievers is the third part of a serialized novel told in four parts – all set in Primrose Terrace.

My Opinion:

Raincoats and Retrievers is the third part of this series. It was lovely getting back to Primrose Terrace and seeing all these lovely characters again.

Cat finally goes on a date with Mark, they have a wonderful time, but then suddenly the day after he is all weird and goes to London for several weeks. That made me grow even more suspicious on him and there was just something I didn’t like.

In the meantime Cat got to spend a lot of time with Joe. He is really nice and always there for her. That also means that they get closer and it makes Cat feel great. I was actually secretly hoping for something to happen between them.

Mark comes back and afterwards something more and deeper happened between them, I’m still not sure if I’m happy with that. I’m just really curious how it all will turn out in the last part of the series.

In this part Cat’s parents turn up as well and we get to read about her best friend Polly a bit more as well. We also get to know some other inhabitants of Primrose Terrace as well. 

Cat is just great and she shows a lot of strength and determination in this book. She has to fight for her little dog walking business once more, but she just does a great job.

Cressida continues her fabulous writing, with her unique and fresh voice once more. The setting of Fairview and Primrose Terrace is beautiful, perfect also for all these dogs. Her style is sparkly, young, magical and really vivid and she just gives you this warm and fuzzy feeling inside. I’m so excited for part 4 now!!!


My possible cast:

Cat: Emily Blunt

Mark: James Marsden

Poppy: Kate Hudson

Joe: Oliver Hudson

Cressida on Twitter: @CressMcLaughlin
Goodreads - Amazon UK - Amazon US

No comments:

Post a Comment