Thursday, 2 July 2015

The Vintage Cinema Club – by Jane Linfoot

Original Cover
My own copy

The blurb:

"A witty, warm-hearted romp through the lives and loves of three friends – with a cool retro vibe, and a sense of fun that will never go out of fashion." – Debbie Johnson, author of the best-selling ‘Cold Feet At Christmas’.

Meet The Vintage Cinema Club….

Izzy is a wow at making unwanted things pretty, but with three brothers and her shabby chic furniture business to run she doesn’t have time to date. Could a fabulous French proposal change her mind?

Single mum Luce’s vintage bridal dresses are exquisite, but there’s no way she’s ever going to wear one or walk down the aisle for that matter. She’s a strictly no romance, one night kind of woman – or so she thinks…

Dida seems to have it all – a chocolate and banana cake recipe to die for, lovely kids (most of the time!) and a great lifestyle. But what good is a fabulous home, when your marriage has more cracks than a pavlova and your husband is having it off with half of Lithuania?

Three retro fabulous friends, in love with all things vintage, run their dream business from the faded grandeur of a rescued cinema. When that dream comes under threat, they’ll do whatever it takes to save it.

Fans of Lucy Diamond, Michele Gorman and Milly Johnson are going to love this heartfelt, funny story.

My Opinion:

*Book provided by the publisher and the author in exchange for an honest review*

The Vintage Cinema Club follows the story of three friends: Izzy, Luce and Dida. The live all things vintage and they run their dream business in an old cinema. When their business is in danger they do everything to save it!!!

It’s the story of a friendship between three very different women. Dida is older then the other two and has to deal with her a** of a husband and her kids. She is strong and very independent. Luce is a young single mum, who is not into the romance thing at all, until she meets Ollie...
And then we have Izzy whi has no time to date, but when she finds herself in France with gorgeous Xander her feelings take over.
I loved their friendship, it was great to read about.

The story is told from three different persectives, but it turns out that Izzy ist he main focus. She was my favourite, so it was okay and I liked the chemistry between her and Xander, but I would have loved a good balance between the characters.

Sadly, it took me a while to get into the story, I can’t really tell you why. As soon as something started to happen between Xander and Izzy I was hooked though. I loved reading about their time in France. It was not easy with those two though, until the end, but that gave the storyline more drama and spark.

It’s a funny, heartwarming and lovely tale about friendship and love.


My possible cast:

Izzy: Anna Kendrick

Luce: Brittany Snow

Dida: Anna Camp

Author Page Facebook:
Twitter: @janelinfoot  


  1. Thank you so much for reading the Vintage Cinema Club Simona, and for writing such an insightful review. It's lovely to be featured on your blog again, and as always, I'm very excited to see the casting pics, which I love. I so appreciate your support. Big hugs for all your help XXX

  2. I have seen this around a bit. The vintage like cover was enough to get my attention. I like a read that connects women like this does and the three perspectives appeals to me.