Monday, 13 March 2017

Evie’s Year of Taking Chances - by Christie Barlow


Original Cover
My own copy

The blurb:

It’s Evie’s birthday and the start of a year she’ll never forget. An emotional story of love, friendship and grabbing life by the horns.

Evie’s job has always been her safe haven. As a librarian in the little town of Becton she loses herself in books - after all it’s far easier to read about other people’s problems than set about solving her own.

Then, one birthday, everything is turned upside down. A mysterious parcel containing a beautiful book with a poignant inscription arrives for Evie. It’s the beginning of a new chapter for Evie and she’s inspired to try and find her real mother. 

Evie’s search leads her to meet handsome author Noah Jones. Charming and intelligent, Noah seems the perfect catch but what Evie doesn’t realise is that he is hiding something – a key to Evie’s past. 

As Evie gets closer to Noah and discovering her mother, she must take a giant leap of faith. Can she embrace the new and make this her year of taking chances? And if she does, will she get her heart broken? 

A romantic, funny and poignant story of living life to the full and finding love in the most unlikely of places. Fans of Debbie Johnson and Cathy Bramley will adore this book!

My Opinion:

*Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

The story follows lovely Evie, who is a librarian. She loves books, so of course I liked her from the start.

Live quickly changes when she receives a mysterious parcel, everything is turned upside down and she is about to discover more about her life and family. She now wants to find her real mother and the journey there is a real adventure.

On the way she also gets to know gorgeous author Noah Jones. He is very handsome and she is attracted to him immediately. I really enjoyed their scenes together and just wanted for something to happen between them. Of course it took longer in the story and there was still her search, which he might be connected to.

We also meet her friends along the way, a great group of people. I have to say that I struggled from time to time connecting them to Evie and to each other, because there were quite a lot of them.

Christie Barlow has a real talent of bringing the characters to life and of creating a refreshing storyline around them. She added some mystery and a of of important aspects like family, love and friendship. It’s a great mixture and I enjoyed every single second of this book. The story is full of surprises and it’s also very emotional, as I said the mixture is what makes this book so special. I would definitely recommend reading it, a real feel good book.

Rating:




My possible cast:

Evie













Noah





















UK 🇬🇧http://amzn.to/2j4p7jt 

US 🇺🇸http://amzn.to/2jTXxFE



About the author

Christie Barlow was born in Cheshire and had a successful career as a civil servant until she decided to trade it in for something more glamorous: ironing, mucking out chickens and horses and chasing a mad cocker spaniel while rearing four children. Christie wrote her debut novel, A Year in the Life of a Playground Mother, as an example to her kids about realising their dreams.

No comments:

Post a comment