Saturday, 25 February 2017

The Little Teashop of Broken Hearts – by Jennifer Joyce

Original Cover
My own copy

The blurb:

A deliciously charming romance, perfect for fans of Caroline Roberts, Jane Linfoot and Debbie Johnson.
From fairy cakes to first dates!
Maddie Lamington’s dreams are crumbling around her. If she doesn’t come up with a plan to save her little teashop on Sweet Street soon, it might be too late…
So when she sees how the perfect apple crumble brings together her lonely father and faithful customer Birdie, inspiration strikes: she’ll set up a dating night involving all her sweetest bakes.
Luckily, seriously gorgeous Caleb is on hand to help sprinkle a little magic – and a lot of sugar! Could one night of scrumptious first dates fix Maddie’s heartbreak and save her beloved teashop, too?

My Opinion:

*Book provided by the publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

The story follows Maddie, who owns a a little teashop. However, things are not going so well and she struggles to keep it up.

Inspired by some guests and family she comes up with the idea to combine (speed) dating with sweets and baked goodies. Her father and a well known customer get to know each other overran apple crumble.
Maddie developes the idea, does a try out session and together with her friends, she sees things looking up.

Birdie comes with a grandson called Caleb and he is quite something, in a positive way of course. I liked him from the start, because he is gorgeous, caring, sweet and much more. He also has a little daughter called Cara, who just adds some sparks.

Both Maddie and Caleb have gone through a lot in their past when it comes to relationships and love. So it’s understandable that they are both very careful when it comes to dating. There is a definite spark between them though and that was carried through the whole story. I kind of felt that things progressed a little slowly at times, but in the end, the storyline was round and within a great flow.

This book is a wonderful, heart-warming, vivid and adorable story, full of love, friendship, family and passion.

The characters were all so lovely. I loved, how they were all there for each other and they were also really authentic. JenniferJoyce captured their relationships beautifully, without letting go of the storyline.


My possible cast:



About the author

Jennifer Joyce is a writer of romantic comedies who lives in Manchester with her husband and their two daughters. Her novels A Beginner’s Guide To Salad, Everything Changes But You, The Mince Pie Mix-Up and The Wedding Date are out now. The Little Teashop of Broken Hearts will be published by HQ Digital (HarperCollins) on 8th February 2017.
Jennifer is available for guest posts and interview.

No comments:

Post a Comment