Tuesday, 11 March 2014

The Memory Book - by Rowan Coleman

Original Cover
My own copy
The blurb:

The name of your first-born. The face of your lover. Your age. Your address...

What would happen if your memory of these began to fade?

Is it possible to rebuild your life? Raise a family? Fall in love again?

When Claire starts to write her Memory Book, she already knows that this scrapbook of mementoes will soon be all her daughters and husband have of her. But how can she hold on to the past when her future is slipping through her fingers...?

Original, heartwarming and uplifting, The Memory Book is perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.

My Opinion:

*Book provided by publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

This ist he first Rowan Coleman book I read and I am more than happy that I did. Well, I read a Scralett Bailey book and loved it, so...

The cover of this novel is so gorgeous and it matches the title perfectly, I adore the colour by the way.

The story follows Claire who's diagnosed with an early onset Alzheimer's Disease. The focus is not only on Claire though, there are also her husband Greg her mum and her 20 years old daughter Caitlin. Rowan found a perfect way to make these transitions between the characters and in the end all fit together.

Claire is a strong and independant woman, who now has to deal with this disease and struggles to remember more and more. She is not the only one dealing with this, her whole family is. It’s especially hard for Greg who seems like a stranger to her now and I admired his power and will to stay there. That’s real love 

The topic of this novel with the AD is a really hard and difficult one, but it makes this story unique and interesting. Esther, Claire’s little daughter was always there for some cute and adorable moments and it made me feel better again after some hard scenes. Rowan described these scenes in such a vivid and incredible way. I felt like being there and really vitnessing everything. Well done Rowan, your writing is brilliant, touching and so gripping.

Caitlin has her own story in this novel and is still always connected to her mum. I loved reading from her POV and seeing how she was dealing with her own situation, but also the situation at home. I liked how her story developed and how she found this connection with Zach. Their scenes were one of my favourites.

The way Greg fought for their love was great to read about. He had to find a way to still be with her, without Claire feeling unsecure.
It was so emotional when Claire remembered everything she had with him and called him to say she loved him.
There were some sweet moments between them and the ending made me cry, tears of joy I guess.

The memories of the characters were wonderful to read about and the were beautifully written. I loved reading about the characters' past and it really showed their personality and what’s important to them in life.

The Memory Book is an amazing book, with lots of emotions and heart. Rowan’s writing is gripping, touching, vivid, real and so wonderful. Let’s just say: You’re in for a real treat.


My possible cast:

Claire: Debra Messing

Greg: Paul Walker


Caitlin: Samantha Barks

Zach: Alex Pettyfer

Rowan on Twitter: @rowancoleman

No comments:

Post a Comment