Thursday, 22 February 2018

The Little Cottage on the Hill - by Emma Davies

Original Cover
My own copy

The blurb:

There’s blossom in the trees and daffodils as far as the eye can see. Maddie is looking forward to a fresh start in the countryside, but there’s just one little problem… 

Following a scandal at her high-flying PR agency, twenty-six-year-old Maddie flees London to help promote what she thinks is going to be a luxurious holiday retreat in the countryside. Everything is riding on her making a success of this new job… 

Yet when she arrives, Maddie is horrified to find a rundown old farm in a terrible state. The brooding and secretive owner, Seth, spent all his money on leasing the land when he fell in love with the beautiful, dishevelled farm cottages and the very romantic story behind them. 

When Maddie discovers an old painting by the original owner’s wife, she unlocks the secret of the farm’s history and quickly realises she must start getting her hands dirty if this very special place is going to have any chance of survival. As she and Seth begin working together, the stunning view from the top of the hill is not the only thing that’s leaving her breathless… 

After weeks of hard work the dream looks like it might become a reality, until a secret from Maddie’s past threatens to snatch it all away again. Can Maddie find a way to save the business and herself? Will she finally find a place to keep her heart within the crumbling walls of the little cottage on the hill? 

Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Lucy Diamond and Debbie Johnson who are looking to escape to the countryside and fall in love watching the seasons change. 

My Opinion:

*Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

I loved the way this book started, it made me really curious about Maddie and also the reason for her driving through the countryside. 

After a scandal Maddie leaves London and arrives at this rundown farm, where she starts her new job. The owner of the farm is called Seth. He is very moody and secretive, but also attractive and passionate. The farm is very important to him. Reasons for that lie in the past and Maddie is slowly discovering them. Working together brings them closer, but Seth is very reserved and not sharing a lot. On top of that there is the gardener Clara, who seems to have a special connection to him. 

Maddie slowly discovers the truth, but the path is rocky and her past comes back to haunt her. 

I liked Seth and Maddie together. They had chemistry and banter, even if it was difficult in the beginning. The way the storyline is great, flows wonderfully and keeps the reader hooked. Underneath it all there are a lot of feelings, emotions and also a softness and of course some romance. 

I think the farm had a lot of charm and the characters (most of them anyway) give it its unique touch. The setting of the book is beautiful and sweet, it came to life through Emma Davies' writing and so did the plot. Her writing is engaging, cute, fun, fresh and lively.

The story is about love, grief, secrets, passion, strength and romance. A lovely read full of fantastic elements, I loved it!


About the author: 

After a varied career, Emma Davies once worked for a design studio where she was asked to provide a fun and humorous (and not necessarily true) anecdote for their website. She wrote the following: 'I am a bestselling novelist currently masquerading as a thirty something mother of three.' Well the job in the design studio didn't work out but she's now a forty something mother of three and is happy to report the rest of her dream came true.

After many years as a finance manager she now writes full time, and is far happier playing with words than numbers. She lives with her husband, three children, and two guinea pigs in rural Shropshire where she writes in all the gaps in between real life. It's a county she adores, her love of its beautiful people and landscapes providing endless inspiration for her books, and in fact the only thing that would make Shropshire more idyllic is if it were by the sea. 

Pop over to her website where, amongst other things, you can read about her passion for Pringles and singing loudly in the car. You can also wave to her on twitter @EmDaviesAuthor or find her on Facebook (a little too often than is good for her).

No comments:

Post a Comment