Thursday, 8 February 2018

If I Fall - by Ella Harper

Original Cover
My own copy

The blurb:

Four friends forever… But who will be there to catch them?

They were best friends at uni. But life was simpler then.
Fifteen years later Connie, a former journalist, now struggles to maintain the veneer of a perfect family life. Jonas, her lawyer husband, is feeling the pressure at work. Personal trainer JJ appears to have it all, but his past is catching up with him. Their other friend, Layla, is a psychotherapist, but her career is unravelling thanks to a difficult and ailing mother.
As the pressure builds, each in their own way must confront their demons. Sometimes things get too much. Sometimes we stumble and fall – and pray someone is there to catch us.

A truly powerful and unforgettable story of love, friendship, and real life, If I Fall is perfect for readers of Alice Peterson, Amanda Prowse and Lianne Moriarty.

My Opinion:

*Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

The book tells the story of four friends, who were best friends at uni. Now, 15 years later things have changed and life has caught up with them.

Connie struggles to keep her family together, her husband Jonas has a lot of pressure at work and things are not easy. Their marriage is in a bad place. JJ is a personal trainer and seems to have it all, but his past comes back to haunt him. Layla struggles with work and then there is also her mother.

All for of them are under a lot of pressure and they have to find a way to deal with it all.

The book is full of surprises, intensity and emotions. It covers love, family and friendship. Ella Harper includes difficult topics in this book and there is a lot of drama included.

The ending of the book was a bit too rushed for me and the storyline had different dynamics, which stopped the flow.


Links to Book:
Author Bio:
Ella Harper learned foreign languages, and imagined she might eventually get a glamorous job speaking French. After climbing her way up the banking ladder, Ella started idly mapping out the beginnings of a novel on an old laptop. When she realised her characters were more real to her than dividends and corporate actions ever could be, she left her job to become a writer.
Author Social Media Links: 

Twitter: @Ella__Harper

No comments:

Post a Comment