Monday, 4 September 2017

Reach for the Stars – by Colleen Coleman

My own copy
Original Cover

The blurb:

When Evelyn Dooley married her high-school sweetheart, James, she thought she was set for life. Now she’s 28, single, and fleeing to Dublin from her small hometown to avoid the gossip surrounding their break-up. 

This was not in her five-year plan. 

Then a chance encounter with gorgeous musician Danny leads to an unlikely friendship, and soon the pair are running music nights together. Surrounded by new friends and a welcoming community, Evelyn is building a life that she really loves – and sparks are beginning to fly between her and Danny… 

But when her savings run out and home beckons, Evelyn has to choose. The safe, comfortable life she left behind, or a new adventure with Danny? Will Evelyn flee back to the familiarity of her ex, or reach for the stars and take a leap into the unknown? 

A laugh-out-loud, feel-good story of friendship, second chances, and romance, perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Lindsey Kelk and Marian Keyes. 

My Opinion:

*Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

Evelyn Dooley is 28 years old, single and her marriage with high-school sweetheart James is in the past. That was definitely not the plan and she leaves her hometown for Dublin.

She makes new friends, builds a life she’s enjoying and meets gorgeous musician Danny. I really enjoyed their scenes and following them around was so much fun. However, her savings run out and she has to make a life changing choice: a new adventure with Danny or the safe life back home.

Of course there are stones and obstacles in the way, which don’t make it any easier and for the reader of of course it’s more exciting and entertaining.
I heard some people say the title is misleading, which I don’t agree with. Reaching for the stars can mean being courageous and brave to start a new adventure and I really think it fits the story.

I think the book has a great message and it’s cleverly integrated in the story. The romantic parts are also a highlight and in general I think it’s such an uplifting, fresh, charming and bubbly story.


Colleen Coleman on Twitter: @CollColemanAuth
Goodreads - Amazon UK - Amazon US

No comments:

Post a Comment