Thursday, 7 September 2017

A Very Vintage Christmas – by Tilly Tennant

Original Cover
My own copy

The blurb:

The fairy lights are up and shoppers are flooding the snowy seaside promenade. It’s going to be a busy month at Forget-Me-Not Vintage, a magical shop with a warm heart where every item has a story to be told. 

With bright red hair and an infectious smile, Dodie is a hopeless romantic and absolutely one of a kind, just like the pieces in her shop. 

When Dodie finds a love letter in the pocket of an old woollen coat, she makes it her mission to deliver it to its rightful owner. Following the address, she manages to persuade the handsome but reluctant new tenant, Edward, to help her with her search. 

As the story of the letter unfolds, Dodie is there, as always, to pick up the pieces and make things right. But who will be there for her when her own love story needs a helping hand? 

Is it too much to dream of a happy ending like the ones in the black and white movies she adores? 

If you’re looking for a sweep-you-off-your-feet romance that will warm you through and through then the door to Forget-Me-Not Vintage is always open. Perfect for fans of Jane Linfoot, Debbie Johnson and Jenny Colgan. 

My Opinion:

*Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

In this story we follow Dodie, who lives in Bournemouth and works at a vintage store. One day she finds a love letter in one of the coats and finds to find it’s true owner.

She reads the letter and finds out when it was written, who wrote it and who it was for. There is also an address on it and Dodie goes there to find out more.

All she finds is moody Edward, who is not helping at all at first. However, he comes round and wants to help. Obviously that also means that these two get to spend a lot of time together. In my opinion there were sparks flying between them from the start and Tilly Tennant captured them beautifully. I think the two of them make a great team and by getting to know each other closer, they also develop feelings. Of course the are not aware of them at first and some misunderstandings and drama put some stones in the way too. Dodie has a boyfriend after all and Ed’s past plays a role as well.

Towards the end we find out, why Ed was hesitant and this adds a lot of tension and more excitement.

I really adored this storyline, because it included friendship, family, love, Christmas and a little mystery. The Christmas vibes are wonderfully portrayed and together with the story they create a magnificent atmosphere.

This was my first Christmas book of the season and it’s a fabulous start. It made me fall in love with Tilly Tennant’s and I’m really excited for Christmas already.

The storyline had me smiling throughout, gave me a warm feeling and the writing adds so many sparks. The description of Bournemouth, the different places and the setting in general is on point. I felt like being there with the characters. It’s not your typical women’s fiction book and I totally mean that in a positive way. There are so many themes covered in this story and I enjoyed every second of it.


Tilly Tennant on Twitter: @TillyTenWriter

No comments:

Post a Comment