Tuesday, 17 March 2015

Book Tour: People We Love - Jenny Harper + Giveaway!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Jenny Harper is back with the fourth instalment in her popular Heartlands series.
People We Love will be on tour for the next few weeks, visiting some of the best and brightest book blogs for reviews, guest posts and a colourful giveaway!

PWL web-1
Original Cover

What they say:

For readers of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and David Nicholls, you will love Jenny Harper's People We Love. Her life is on hold – until an unlikely visitor climbs in through the kitchen window.
A year after her brother’s fatal accident, Lexie’s life seems to have reached a dead end. She is back home in small-town Hailesbank with her shell-shocked parents, treading softly around their fragile emotions.
As the family business drifts into decline, Lexie’s passion for painting and for her one-time mentor Patrick have been buried as deep as her unexpressed grief, until the day her lunch is interrupted by a strange visitor in a bobble hat, dressing gown and bedroom slippers, who climbs through the window. Elderly Edith’s batty appearance conceals a secret and starts Lexie on a journey that gives her an inspirational artistic idea and rekindles her appetite for life. With friends in support and ex-lover Cameron seemingly ready to settle down, do love and laughter beckon after all?   

My opinion:

*Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

People We Love was my first book by Jenny Harper and I really liked the whole story and idea behind it.

Unfortunately it took me quite a while to get into the story. I liked Lexie as a character, but I couldn’t really find a connection to her. I loved her passion for painting and especially her little project with the shoes she developped. There is such a beautiful message behind it, just so adorable.

Lexie, her family and friends have gone through a lot since Jamie died and there were a lot of open questions. It was interesting discovering the truth, but at times I felt that there was too much going on. All the little things were touching and beautiful, but the whole picture seemed vague sometimes.

It’s a journey of letting go, doing what you love, and find a way to be happy and find true love. I felt that Lexie was always hiding a bit behind her passion.

Pavel (Lexie’s polish friend) and Edith added a wonderful spark to this book.
Each chapter started with a description of a pair of shoes, such a beautiful idea, especially when you get to discover the meaning behind each pair.

People We Love is a touching and sweet story about love, pain and friendship. It's dealing with some difficult and touching topics in a beautiful way. Unfortunately, the writing made it difficult for me to properly dive into it, there was something missing and the storyline was not ideal for me, which is a pity, because I really liked the message behind it all.



Author Bio:
Jenny CC 6 webJenny Harper lives in Edinburgh. She is the author of four books about Scotland and Scottish culture, a history of childbirth, and The Sleeping Train for young readers. When she isn't writing, she enjoys walking in the Scottish countryside or anywhere warm, and travelling to Europe, America and India.  
Find Jenny


Enter via the Rafflecopter below to win:
PWL web
1st Prize: 1 x Winsor & Newton Cotman Watercolour Sketchers Pocket Set and an E-copy of People We Love by Jenny Harper
2nd Prize: 1 x Winsor & Newton Cotman Watercolour Sketchers' Pocket Set

a Rafflecopter giveaway   Giveaway is international. Jenny Harper and CandleLit Author Services reserve the right to cancel or amend giveaway details at anytime and without prior notification.

No comments:

Post a Comment