Tuesday, 2 December 2014

Book of the Month - November

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

The books I read this month:

-       I’ll Take New York – by Miranda Dickinson 5/5
-       We’ve Always Got New York – by Jill Knapp 4/5
-       Christmas at Carrington’s – by Alexandra Brown 5/5
-       Christmas with Billy and Me – by Giovanna Fletcher 4/5
-       A Christmas To Remember – by Jenny Hale 5/5
-       Secret Santa – by Scarlett Bailey 4.5/5
-       Snow Angels, Secrets and Christmas Cake – by Sue Watson 4/5
-       The Twelve Dates of Christmas – by Lisa Dickenson 5/5
-       Mistletoe Mansion – by Samantha Tonge 4/5
-       Wild About Weston – by Katy Regnery 5/5
-       The Great Christmas Knit Off – by Alexandra Brown 5/5
-       Jenny Lopez Saves Christmas – by Lindsey Kelk 5/5

I spent this month with a lot of great stories, mostly Christmas books actually, the reviews for that will all be part of my Christmas Feature, which already started Dec 1st. The following two books stood out for me:

A Christmas To Remember – Jenny Hale

The bit on the back:

A beautiful story about the magic of childhood Christmas memories, the strength of family and falling in love when you least expect it.

Everyone loves Christmas – don’t they?

Carrie Blake loves her job as a nanny but, while her friends are settling down, all of Carrie’s spare time is spent with other people’s families. Though it breaks her heart, her New Year’s resolution is to embark on a new career and fix her love life.

As Carrie starts her last job, she’s sure she’ll be going out on a high – the house is amazing , the kids are adorable, and she’s in charge of decorating the tree!

The only problem could be her boss… single-dad Adam Fletcher might be both handsome and successful, but he’s always working. Doesn’t he realise he’s missing out on precious moments with his son and daughter?

As Adam’s family arrive for Christmas including his sensitive sister, Sharon, and his fun-loving elderly Grandpa, Walter, Carrie realises that she might just have found the perfect allies in her quest to persuade Adam to loosen up. There’s still time for Carrie to make this the best Christmas ever… after all, Christmas is the time for miracles, isn’t it? Let the festivities begin!

My opinion:

It’s magical, romantic, adorable, festive – just perfect for Christmas!!! There are so many beautiful moments in this book, the storyline is amazing and the characters were great. A vivid and authentic book written by a very talented author!!!

Jenny on Twitter: @jhaleauthor
Website: http://itsjennyhale.com

I’ll Take New York – Miranda Dickinson

The bit on the back:

The author of the Sunday Times bestselling Take a Look at Me Now, returns to New York with her most heart-warming, romantic story yet.

Have you ever given up on love?

When her boyfriend lets her down for the last time, Brooklyn bookshop owner Bea James makes a decision – no more. No more men, no more heartbreak, and no more pain.

Psychiatrist Jake Steinmann is making a new start too, leaving his broken marriage behind in San Francisco. From now on there'll just be one love in his life: New York.

At a party where they seem to be the only two singletons, Bea and Jake meet, and decide there’s just one thing for it. They will make a pact: no more relationships.

But the city has other plans . . .

My opinion:

The scenes in this story were all so authentic and I felt like being part of it. Miranda’s writing is brilliant, so magical and sparkly. I loved every second of this book and I think this is my new favourite out of her books. I fell in love with the story, the characters, New York and also with the writing! Well done Miranda, this book is a masterpiece!

The Great Christmas Knit Off – Alexandra Brown

The bit on the back:

The perfect seasonal tale of how laughter, friends and wacky Christmas jumpers can mend a broken heart. For fans of Trisha Ashley and Jenny Colgan.

Heartbroken after being jilted at the altar, Sybil has been saved from despair by her knitting obsession and now her home is filled to bursting with tea cosies, bobble hats, and jumpers. But, after discovering that she may have perpetrated the cock-up of the century at work, Sybil decides to make a hasty exit and, just weeks before Christmas, runs away to the picturesque village of Tindledale.

There, Sybil discovers Hettie’s House of Haberdashery, an emporium dedicated to the world of knitting and needle craft. But Hettie, the outspoken octogenarian owner, is struggling and now the shop is due for closure. And when Hettie decides that Sybil’s wonderfully wacky Christmas jumpers are just the thing to add a bit of excitement to her window display, something miraculous starts to happen…

My opinion:

This book is my fave out of Alex’s books so far. I love her writing, t’s brilliant. It’s so detailed, vivid and sparkly. I felt like being there with the characters in this beautiful, festive and romantic place!!
I can’t wait for the next book of this series!!! Hurry up Alex ;)

Alex on Twitter: @alexbrownbooks
Website: http://www.alexandrabrown.co.uk

No comments:

Post a Comment