Thursday, 27 April 2017

The Cornish Escape – by Lily Graham

Original Cover
My own copy

The blurb:

Get swept away along the beautiful Cornish coast with two love stories, centuries apart in time but entwined at their hearts.

Victoria Langley’s world crumbles when her husband leaves, but she knows exactly where to go to mend her broken heart. The rugged shores of Cornwall will be her perfect sanctuary. 

In the quaint, little village of Tregollan, nestled in the sea cliffs, Victoria is drawn to Seafall Cottage, covered in vines and gracefully falling apart. Inside she finds a diary full of secrets, from 1905.

Victoria is determined to unravel the diary’s mystery, but the residents of Tregollan are tight-lipped about Tilly Asprey, the cottage’s last owner. Just as she reaches a dead end, Victoria meets Adam Waters, the lawyer handling the cottage’s sale. He’s handsome, charming, and has a missing piece of the puzzle.

Tilly’s diary tells a devastating love story that mirrors Victoria’s own. Can Victoria learn from Tilly’s mistakes, and give herself a second chance at love? Or is history doomed to repeat itself?

An unputdownable and gorgeously romantic read about lost love and new beginnings set in the green hills and rocky cliffs of the breath-taking Cornish coast. Perfect for fans of Phillipa Ashley, Emma Burstall and Liz Fenwick.

My Opinion:

*Book provided by the publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

After Victoria finds her marriage shattered to pieces, she buys a little cottage in Cornwall. It's a new start, a project and when she finds the diary of a woman called Tilly some mystery is added to the story.
Victoria is determined to solve it and tries to find out more about Tilly and her family. On the way she discovers a lot and also meets some new people, one of them being handsome Adam, who is even connected to the mystery and might have a missing puzzle of the story.

I loved the intrigue in this book and how the chapters alternated between the diary and present day. I have to say that I was more drawn to the relationship between Adam and Victoria, but still enjoyed the connection to the past. On top of Adam and Victoria developing feelings for each other, there were their ex partners, who didn't make the situation easier. Some misunderstandings and drama totally made their journey more interesting.

I loved the scenery in this book and Lily Graham captured it beautifully. I was a little disappointed by the ending, not because it was bad, just because I wanted more, wanted to find out more and read more about the characters.

This is definitely a very captivating read, full of great characters, connecting storylines and a wonderful setting.


Lily Graham on Twitter: @lilygrahambooks
Goodreads - Amazon UK - Amazon US

No comments:

Post a Comment