Friday, 29 December 2017

It Started With a Tweet - by Anna Bell

Original Cover
My own copy

The blurb:

Can Daisy Hobson log off for love...?

Could you survive a digital detox? This hilarious new romantic comedy from the author of The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart is perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Sophie Kinsella.

Daisy Hobson lives her whole life online. A marketing manager by day, she tweets her friends, instagrams every meal and arranges (frankly, appalling) dates on Tinder. But when her social media obsession causes her to make a catastrophic mistake at work, Daisy finds her life going into free-fall . . . 

Her sister Rosie thinks she has the answer to all of Daisy's problems - a digital detox in a remote cottage in Cumbria, that she just happens to need help doing up. Soon, too, Daisy finds herself with two welcome distractions: sexy French exchange-help Alexis, and Jack, the brusque and rugged man-next-door, who keeps accidentally rescuing her.

But can Daisy, a London girl, ever really settle into life in a tiny, isolated village? And, more importantly, can she survive without her phone? 

My Opinion:

*Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

Anna Bell has a new book out?! Well, then give it to me immediately. I love her writing style and was really excited to start reading this one. The title is perfect for it and the story really makes you think.

We get to follow Daisy Hobson, who is on her phone constantly, whether it’s tweeting her friends, uploading a pic on Instagram or looking for dates on Tinder. She is a marketing manager and really obsessed with social media. It’s not surprising that she gets confused and mixes her accounts and people up. So a big mistake happens and everything goes downhill from there. Her sister Rosie thinks she needs a serious detox and Daisy finds herself in a remote cottage in Cumbria. Can she survive without her phone?!

Luckily, there are two very nice distractions: French exchange help Alexis and Jack, the man next door.

All the characters added something special to the story and I think they were all very well lined out. The storyline had a great flow and it always seemed very authentic. I sometimes wanted to shake Daisy and make her act differently though.

This book is full of LOL moments and I also really liked the sitting. Anna Bell puts a lot of detail in her writing and makes it really gripping. Her style is modern, fresh, charming, warm and very exciting. It’s a wonderful romantic comedy, full of unique moments and scenes.


Anna Bell on Twitter: @AnnaBell_writes

No comments:

Post a Comment